The Desert Dash reigning champions

Irene Steyn clinched the women’s category and Namibian cyclist, Tristan de Lange, is the reigning Nedbank Desert Dash men’s solo category champion.

Steyn defended her crown successfully at the 17th edition of the Dash with a convincing time of 19:25:43 while her closest rival Anri Parker recorded a time of 20:07:23. The third place went to Nandine Klopper who clocked a time of 21:02:03, whilst Katja Troschka made it in fourth in a time of 21:38:28.

De Lange who finished in a time of 14:55:30, beat six-time winner Konny Looser in a photo finish and by 30 seconds after 14 hours and 55 minutes of riding in 2021. It was all about the one who desired it the most and this time De Lange made sure that his name will be on the list as the champion. When dawn broke and with typical Swakopmund weather conditions persisting, many had expected the familiar face of Looser who has been constantly tormenting his opponents for the past 6 years to cross the finishing line first.

Looser gave it his all but could not salvage a seventh consecutive win. He experienced a stomach problem and said that is why he just did not have enough in his tank to finish ahead of Tristan. The third place finisher Vinzent Don clocked 14:55:43.

Drikus Coetzee crossed the finish line in fourth place with a time of 15:31:54. He was among the favourites and experienced a flat tire which left him struggling to keep up with the pace of the front three. Kai Pritzen’s efforts saw him clocking a time of 16:54:43 and the fourth place.

The first four person’s men team event was won by team Hollard, consisting of Igram Cuff, Andre Vermeulen, CP Nel and Christo Swartz. In second place was team Cymot made up of Fanie Steenkamp, Cobus Smith, Daniel Hahn and Kevin Lowe. Team Reality Dynamix which consisted of David Garret, Craig Boyes, Bennie Viljoen and Theuns van der Bank finished in third position.

The first two persons mixed team in was team Mannie’s Bike Mecca consisting of Jen Weber and Brandon Downes.

The respective solo women and men winners pocketed N$38 000 each. The two-person team winners received N$24 000 and the four-person team winners N$18 000.

The first-ever Desert Dash was held in 2005 and had only 44 participants competing in the 24-hour race.