Unam's merit award ceremony

Celebrating those who continuously give their all
Michaiyla Hansen
The University of Namibia’s (Unam) School of Pharmacy held its annual merit award ceremony on 15 March to celebrate top performers for a host of achievements.

The event was presented by school representative Johannes Iitembu, who said: “This is a representation of hard workers and should be taken as an inspiration for future students”.

Boni Singu, associate dean for the School of Pharmacy, encouraged the students in attendance to keep trying and not to feel pressured if they do not receive a certificate.

The event featured special guests, such as the director of pharmaceutical services in the ministry of health, Naita Nghishekwa, who emphasised the importance of pharmacists practicing gentle patient care and open communication while showing clinical competence.

The ceremony had three categories: Special awards, departmental awards and academic awards.

For the special awards category, the Jino Mbomboro Memorial Award for Student Leadership was presented to Anne Nell for her involvement with student issues, leadership skills and active membership in various student bodies. Victoria Johannes and Anna-Lusia Ipangelwa both received recognition for community outreach, for their direct involvement in organising visits to orphanage homes and organising student assistance funds under the auspices of the Pharmacy Students’ Society of Namibia.

In the same category, Pascania Nyangana, Vonja Rupping and Teresa Sapalo scooped best research project, while Lucia Hilifilwa and Brendane Mangundu took home the awards for good laboratory practice and skills and commendation for excellence respectively.

In the departmental awards category, Sapalo, Lydia Henok and Maria Ndiweni were awarded for the best average of 73% in pharmacology, Emma Joel for the best average (71.9%) in pharmaceutical sciences and Rupping for the best in pharmacy practice and policy with 76.5%.

The top performers in the academic awards category were Gunnar Grasreiner, the overall best first-year student with 81%; Taimi Asino, the overall best second-year student with 80%; Anika Swart, the overall best third-year student with 72.4%, Rupping, the overall best fourth-year student with 73.4%, and Maria Indongo for overall best pharmacy graduate with 72.9%.

The ceremony celebrated students who worked hard throughout the year and gave their all in everything they attempted. The hope is that other students will be motivated and work to receive an award as well.