RA announces 2023 bursary recipients

Removing financial barriers
The company awarded 14 students studying the fields of computer science, civil engineering and electronic engineering.
Junior Kapofi
The Roads Authority (RA) announced its 2023 bursary recipients last week at the Avani Hotel and Casino in Windhoek.

This year, the company awarded 14 students - six women and eight men - studying the fields of computer science, civil engineering and electronic engineering. The value of the bursary is N$86 500 per student per year, and will cover tuition fees, accommodation, meals, textbooks, medical aid, transport allowance and a monthly allowance.

RA's bursary scheme was officially launched in 2003 and to date, a total of approximately N$29 million has been invested into135 students, of which 75 are men and 60 are women, CEO Conrad Lutombi said.

He added that at the time the bursary scheme was launched, the country was experiencing a serious skill shortage in the engineering field. One of the objectives of the scheme was therefore to increase the number of technical professionals, especially in the engineering sector.

The bursary scheme is part of RA’s corporate social responsibility programme, which is aimed at removing financial barriers to students from previously disadvantaged backgrounds who are in need of financial assistance.

“Those who display excellence and enrol for courses in the built environment for their tertiary education,” Lutombi added.

The RA will be investing a total of N$1.2 million annually for the next five years to cover expenses for these deserving recipients.

The 2023 bursary recipients are:

Meinold Muyenga, computer science

Tupopila Kadhila, computer science

Hilen Moses, computer science

Zelda Rusberg, computer science

Petrus Kadhila, computer science

Brooklyn Uushona, electronic engineering

Isabela Hasheela, electronic engineering

Johannes Nambinga, civil engineering

Mathias Malengi, civil engineering

Josofina Haimbangu, civil engineering

Greg Mafwila, civil engineering

Lukas Kandindo, civil engineering

Jade Kisting, civil engineering

Kylaeb Ickua, civil engineering